The inventor of the term ToChongq and co-founder (with Manni) of the chongqing movement (after being persuaded it wasn't a crazy idea).
My chongqing blog http://chongq.blogspot.com
Hello Joe,
I a member of the Wikkawiki crew and tried to add a link to our spam-discussion-page. Your software told me that i am a spammer and shot down the IE? I just copied another of the wiki-links (the last one in the list, starts to have the link-syntax and then changed the link to the wikka-page. After saving it told me i had tried to add a url with ru at the end? (The ip-adress is a i-net caffe in Bologna, Italy)
Anyway, thank you for your fight against spam and your suggestions for WikkaWiki (we'll have to discuss them). Greets, --NilsLIndenberg?
Thanks for letting me know what happened, I just saw this and added your link. We have blocked .ru links becuase we had a spammer that was hitting us every day with new links and we weren't able to block him any other way. When you tried to add the .ru link it set a cookie on your browser that identified you as a returning spammer. If you clear your cookies or just delete the one for this domain you should be ok again. Sorry we caused you trouble. It seems that spammer is leaving us alone for now so maybe we can allow .ru domains again. We hate to add such wide blocks, but hoped in this case no one else would get caught and it saved us a lot of cleanup. Hopefully we can remove that soon, we haven't see the spammer in a while, but he has taken breaks before and then comes right back to hitting us daily. Until we figure out if that spammer is going to leave us alone you can leave the .ru link inside a pre or nowiki tag so it doesn't see you as spamming and we will make it a link. Its been longer than usual since his last attack so maybe he gave up. Sorry for the problems. – Joe - 2005-05-09 18:30 UTC
No problem (luckily sound was turned off :) but i did not enter anything which ended with ru, thats what keeps me wondering. --NilsLindenberg?
Odd, it got you again. I just removed the .ru block so maybe it will work now. Be sure to clear the cookie again. I am glad your sound was off, it has caught me a couple times and it really makes you panic. But that is why its there, only its not supposed to go off on spam fighters. – Joe - 2005-05-09 18:55 UTC
It works now :) The crazy thing is that the only url I actually used in both edits was the one to our spam fighting page in wikka. Or maybe it was the i-net caffe? I post from the university at the moment ("research on social software" ;). I'll try it from the first computer another time, somewhere in the next days. – NilsLindenberg?
Well, that didn't go through. Sorry, that might have had something to do with me testing out the blocklist again. It didn't affect me even when I was not logged in. Its off now. Don't forget to clear that cookie. – Joe - 2005-05-10 10:50 UTC
Does this in any way improve this jerks rating? How can I hit him in the pocketbook? I've got the Bot running on Corner-Carvers Wiki, - the attempts have not decreased. It's checked for spam in the most often spammed pages every 15 min. A full scan on every page is run on the hour. I'm getting into Perl pretty good. Still a newby though.
Here, drop in. I had to take off my guestbook, didn't have the time to deal with the spam. What I did was, as I just hacked for C-C, was just put the DataBase? on my drive. Finally it was just too much hassle and I cut it off. Roy.
Of the spams I looked at they were on free hosts, these are the kind of spammers that we haven't found a good way to fight since we don't want to blacklist entire free hosts (unless absolutly necessary). Often we do try to get their free hosts to cut them off. Some are happy to clean out spammers, but many don't care. Some spammers are just too lazy or stupid to realize a page they are spamming is being automatically cleaned. If you can get access to the logs and the .htaccess file you can block out some spammers who always attack from the same small IP range. – Joe - 2005-09-12 06:23 UTC