WikiHome RecentChanges WikiNode Preferences chongqed.org

Opera Images Question Spam

This Message seems innocent enough:

Sorry for your time.... Why i can't see images on this resource?
My Browser is: Opera.
Thank you.
…but Halz spotted exactly the same message appearing on 2006-10-11 on two different wikis. Sure enough it's everywhere.

When required to log in he's logging in as Green_Monkey23 and email address green_monkey@paymailpro.org

It seems to be spam software configured to find commentable blogs, expecting a URL field. So on blogs it does leave links to URLS such as http://greenpeace.cr4ix7.com (now broken). Hopefully bloggers will recognize this comment for what it is, and remove it immediately.

On most wikis so far, no link is being left. It is just a pointless waste of time. Many people will not see it as spam since it seems so innocent and contains no URL. This makes it particularly annoying, because a lot of people will waste time responding to the question and/or trying to figure out what is wrong with their websites and Opera. And worse, spams like this often replace the entire page and could be used to find spamable wikis. Probably best to just delete this message on sight, with an explanatory comment (link here perhaps). Even if legitimate, messages like this would be inappropriate and disruptive on many wiki pages and should be left in specific places.

On this JSPwiki installation, the spammer figured out how to include a spam link as a signature for the "innocent" text:

Sorry for your time.... Why i can't see images on this resource?
My Browser is: Opera.
Thank you.
--[Green_Monkey23|http://greenpeace.cr4ix7.com], 10-Okt-2006

Should we change this page to InnocentCommentSpam? or TroubleShootingSpam? to be more general since surely the spam text will evolve? – Joe - 2006-10-16 21:00 UTC