Somebody signing in as 'John' (IP 134.75.217.55) spammed the WikiForum page on April 9, 2005 at 13:45 UTC. That IP address belongs to Sunmoon University in Korea. His spam was pretty sneaky, it looked like a real message, he copied one of Manni's messages.
Manni's message:
Hey! I just found a nice referrer from [http://www.amazon.com/exec/obidos/search-handle-url/... Amazon]! -- [[Manni]] - 2005-04-01 21:31
And 'John' added this just below that:
Hey! I just found a nice referrer from [http://www.dietpills123.bravehost.com/ diet pills] -- [[John]] - 2005-04-08 15:31
Makes you think he understands English, so why was he so stupid to hit an antispam wiki? He obviously understands wikis, it looks like he signed his post with the built in shortcut. Makes me wonder if its some jerk trying to test us out. I have chongqed his link, it does look spammy but I was not able to find any other evidence of spam for that domain in Google. Maybe Manni can check the logs for clues, there was other spam around that time from other IPs. And we will keep an eye on Google for more spam. If more don't appear this link will be removed from the database.
His chongqed keywords: dietpills123.bravehost.com diet pills
Joe, the domain seemed familar to me so I checked WikiMinion's database. The domain dietpills123.bravehost.com appears in WikiMinion's database as spam. WikiMinion discovered it early April 9th on the Montreal Social Software Conference Wiki. The modus operandi was the same: the spam edit originated from IP 134.75.217.55 and the spammer copied some text to disguise the nature of the edit. However, on the MSSC wiki he used the user name "Diet pills" instead of "John".
– RichardP - 2005-04-10 12:27 UTC
Thanks. Sounds like your DB is far more informative than ours. Being partly automated makes collecting all that data easier I guess. – Joe - 2005-04-10 21:41 UTC