What do you think of chongqed.org? Give us some feedback.
We know what spammers think. They don't like it. Some realize what they have been doing is bad and quit and some go out of their way to show how much they don't like us.
See also:
Our Cyprus buddy seems to have been checking my blog out. I just got a hit from Cyprus Telecommuncations Authority (la-3-31.cytanet.com.cy 195.14.131.159) with this google search. – Joe
I just got a hit from a search for 99986, my blog is the top result. Anyone out there know what the heck 99986 means? – Joe
That's a wiki spammer's site. They've created numerous domains that only consist of a random string of numbers (ending in .com or .net).
I know they are spammers, but I assumed those numbers meant something to Chinese culture or something. What are they selling? Is it just an SEO spam business? – Joe
Someone (195.175.152.99) has just a while ago (2004-10-05) inserted a chongqed.org link into the middle of Czech Wikipedia's (http://cs.wikipedia.org) main help page. I hope this is not the way this project is going to work. The link was of course removed and I hope we won't have to fight against spamming by an anti-spam site. Thanks. – Mormegil
Thanks for the pointer. Of course, nobody related to chongqed.org planted that link. Whois information for that IP address tells me that the address belongs to "Turk Telekom". Thus it seems rather obvious to me that this is a spammer trying to retaliate (see SpammerInDenial). Here's the link to the spammy revision. Seems he also included the other wikis that feature hukuki.net on their blacklists. – Manni
We follow our linking guidelines and only post links on pages with antispam discussion already going on when we have something useful to add other than just mentioning our site. This guy is just an upset spammer trying to make sites that list him as a spammer look bad. For when that revision expires, here is what he spammed: Best Wiki site - Yahoo - Google - Altavista - c2.com - usemod.com - emacswiki.org - chongqed.org
Thanks for the info, I thought that it was either some spammer's retaliation, or some much-too-eager anti-spam novice fighter. – Mormegil
If it were a too eager novice fighter we would still need to track him down and let them know thats not how its done. Hopefully even a novice spam fighter would know better, but you never know. If you see any more links to us that look spammy or over eager be sure to let us know. – Joe
Update: He is still at it and vandalizing wikipedia. This time, his IP address is 195.175.152.60 and he seems to be going for the main pages. – Manni
He seems to use proxies. At least a few of the IPs I found for his guestbook additions seemed to be proxies so there is no way to block his IP. Is there any way to find his spam easy or you just have to look at a bunch of languages. – Joe
I found that latest one in my web logs. The good wikipedia people that removed the spam seem to have followed the link. Or somebody else who saw that page. --Manni
Found a Chinese site that mentions chongqed. But bablefish is down right now. http://www.klogs.org/archives/2004/11/ioenaaeblogiwik.html#comments
That's a blog posting of Chenwei, the biggest supporter we currently have in China. – Manni - 2004-11-22 11:05
Give this search a try, it sure made me happy. I wonder if that is why he seems to only do sandboxes now.
I ran across this old revision from July 14, 2004 of some of the Casino spammer's pathetic revenge attempts. In addition to spamming for himself he left comments about us:
i would google family <a href="http://www.google.com">Google</a> about my alone gambling and http://spammers.chongqed.org/casino-online with moron manni and loser joe, all your base are belong to http://www.casino-online-on-line.comI'd like to find out one fine day, how he came up with the phrase "i would google family about my alone gambling". – Manni - 2004-11-22 11:05
Any clue what happened to the PageRank of the main site? It dropped to 1. The wiki and all our other sites are 3 or 4. – Joe - 2004-11-28 09:17 UTC
Oh. Are you using that nice Firefox extension, too? It could be that Google is punishing us for all those backlinks on the chongqing pages. Search for link:http://chongqed.org/ and you should see what I mean. – Manni - 2004-11-29 11:03
That could be it, but you would think it would hurt spammers.chongqed.org more since its the one doing the unusual amount of linking. – Joe - 2004-11-29 21:01 UTC
chongqed.com is now only another domain for one of Lior's many websites. Its so sad to see it go. ;-) – Joe - 2004-12-04 07:05 UTC
It is a great site, but you don't have any information on how to implament the blacklist.
I would like to use it, but can't find any information on how to use it.
I may also have some new sites for you at http://www.hierarchypedia.com/wiki/index.php/Talk:About
I would be greatful if someone could contact me and show me how to set it up. - David - 2005-05-24 18:20
You're right David. We should probably have a page dedicated to explaining the blacklist and how one might use it, e.g. 'ChongqedBlacklist?', although it this depends on which wiki software people are running. We do have some discussion about using the blacklist on your software. see MediaWiki (in fact it was decided that the chongqed blacklist is not compatible with mediawiki, but we could perhaps make an adapted version) – Halz - 2005-05-25 07:22 UTC