The case of the Chinese shoe spammer
List of spamvertized sites and used keywords
Most recent spam that started the discussion
This list contains the full URLs that are needed in this case; not just the domain names.
List of spamvertized pages selling Onitsuka Tiger shoes:
- edu421.urbanclothing.net/asics-onitsuka-tiger0001.shtml
- www.aroots.org/mode/mode_feminine/asics/asics_onitsuka_tiger_tai-chi-ar147.html
- www.asicstiger.com/] onitsuka tiger
- www.classicsportshoes.com/asi-73194.html
- www.classicsportshoes.com/onitsukatiger.html
- www.frontier-i.com/shopscr1579.html
- www.harputs.com/newonpr.html
- www.letsrun.com/shoes.php?shoe=onitsuka
- www.zappos.com/n/br/b/421.html
List of spamvertized pages selling Kangaroos shoes:
- www.zappos.com/n/br/b/412.html
- www.oddballshoe.com/cascades/pdetail/1003863
- www.revolveclothing.com/brandpages/KangaROOSShoes?.jsp
- www.search.com/dir/Top/Sports/Football/Australian_Rules/Kangaroos
- www.shoes.com/category.asp?c=MENS&brand=KANGA
- www.shoes.com/category.asp?c=~KANGA~1
- www.kangoo-worldsite.com/home.htm
- www.dealtime.com/xDN-Shoes--football_cleats-sh_brand_kangaroos~S-2~OR-0~V-rows
- englinsfinefootwear.com/kangaroos/default.htm
Onitsuka Tiger apparently is the original name for ASICS, a company based in Japan. Kangaroos is an American brand, owned by the asco group situated on the Bahamas. Both brands seem to have major SEO problems: you cannot easily find their homepages with Google. This is simply explained by their dramatic overuse of Flash. Check out http://www.kangaroosusa.com/ and you will see what I mean.
Further Googling reveals that the German distributor of Kangaroos must have hired some self-proclaimed SEO experts.
Spam in the database where the keyword contains 'shoe'
Spam in the database where the keyword contains 'Nike'
Spam in the database where the keyword contains 'Puma'
Spam in the database where the keyword contains 'boot'